23 April 2019

Gateway Review Process

Written by Office of Government Commerce, United Kingdom
23 April 2019

The Gateway Review process aims to deliver a ‘peer review’ of projects at critical stages in their lifecycle, to provide assurance that they can progress successfully to the next stage. The Gateway Review Process covers six ‘Gates’, numbered from 0 to 5.

These gateways cover aspects from strategic assessment of the program to examining the full business case of the project, as well as monitoring the operations of a project. Principles of the Green Book are incorporated in Gates 1 and 2. For all major projects, HMT approvals are required at Gates 1, 2 and 3.

Subscribe to newsletter